Anpil

Today I finally made it to Saint Marc! It was a long and interesting day, and I’m sure I will have plenty to say about it once I’ve had a good night of sleep. For now I will just say I’m glad to be working with some good people, and that I am already learning lots. For instance, you can provide scales in the pediatric unit, but that doesn’t guarantee that anyone – not even the “roughly 1kg” preemie – will actually get weighed.

It was both an overwhelming and exciting day. Definitely discouraging at times as well, but I am looking at it as lots of room for improvement. Anpil, as they say in kreyòl. Anpil means, roughly translated – plenty, or a lot. Tons. So, nou gen anpil timoun – we have lots of children! Or li bwe anpil – he drinks plenty. Or less exciting, li tusse anpil anpil – he coughs so so much!

So, I’ve got anpil tasks ahead of me, and fortunately anpil support in doing them. It’s going to be an interesting 6 months, that’s for sure.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Karen Stockmal

     /  January 19, 2012

    Hi Sara,
    Your post made me think of one of my favorite quotes, ““I am always doing things I can’t do. That is how I get to do them.” -Pablo Picasso. Hang in there. You are amazing. We love you tons! Karen

    Reply
  2. Enjoying your posts, know you are quite capable and will adapt. Best of luck! Lisbet

    Reply

Leave a Reply

