Sleep, or lack thereof

Sleeping here is a bit of a tricky thing. It helps to have a mosquito net and some really good earplugs. I’ve got the net pretty much mastered by now, but the noise is proving a much more challenging issue.

In Boston I had lived on a somewhat busy road, and often heard sirens, car stereos, or people in the street. Here in Haiti the noises are different. This evening the dogs have been noisiest, howling for hours at a stretch. The roosters throw in their two cents now and again, without the slightest regard for time of day or night. There has been a really unhappy cat nearby the past few nights, and the goats have been quiet this week but can cause their own racket when they want to. The chirping of bugs only momentarily lulls when I turn off the lights in the evening. I think they notice a difference in the light shining from my windows.

The windows are screened but always open, so in addition to letting in sounds they let in the smells of cooking fires and the nightly trash disposal. If the neighbors’ house is set up like ours, their kitchen abuts the wall that my window faces, which explains how I know that the neighbors put out the trash every evening.

I have a roof over my head and a bed to sleep in, so I’m doing better than most Haitians already, but I think I’d be happier if I could just get one or two nights of uninterrupted sleep! For now it is way past my bedtime. I’m going to give sleeping another try. Goodnight all!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I wish we could send you an air conditioner but I guess that’s out of the question. Your never going to forget this experience Sara, and I don;t think we will either. Hope you get some rest over the weekend.

    Love,
    Uncle Dick

    Reply
    • Thanks Uncle Dick! I agree it would help with the noise and the heat, but for now I am doing better with “Dr. Mom”‘s suggestion of melatonin. Now there is one smart doctor!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

