Transitions

I took a quick trip to Miami this weekend. It was a wonderful break, filled with good company, delicious food, and fun adventures. Coming back to Haiti after even that short little break feels incredibly hard. It was a quick reminder of the life I’ve put on hold to be here, and even though I value my work here incredibly, some days it feels really hard to know the struggles that face me each day and to keep up my energy and enthusiasm in the face of so much adversity.

I found this quote this morning, courtesy of Nyaya Health, a group doing great work in Nepal.

“Of all the forms of inequality, injustice in health care is the most shocking and inhumane.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

And there it is. I’m ready. It will be a tough day, but I can do this.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Cathy Gonzalez

     /  January 21, 2013

    You can do it. Of course you can. One small step at a time! And never lose your sense of humor. Love,, Mom

    Reply
  2. Uncle Dick

     /  January 21, 2013

    An interesting add up on your weekend Sarah, completely normal to sometimes reflect on what you have at home, not only you but all of us that are blessed to be in this country. You will adjust cause you always have and your work is just wonderful love you,
    Uncle Dick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

